District 201V2, Victoria, AUSTRALIA


Nicole Lundie Undergraduate Student Prize


The Nicole Lundie Award is an annual club project made in conjunction with the Peter Mac cancer research institute and awarded annually to an outstanding Undergraduate student at Peter Mac. From 2003-2007, this prize was awarded as a Summer Scholarship Prize.

Since 2007, this prize is awarded to the most outstanding Honours student who has undertaken their research project at Peter Mac.

Nicole Lundie completed her Bachelor of Biomedical Science at the University of Melbourne. Nicole's academic achievements were outstanding, and in 2001 she graduated in the top 10% of her class. Nicole arrived at Peter Mac in the Summer of 2001 as a Summer Scholarship student in the Stem Cell Laboratory, and she made a great impression on those she worked with. Nicole then joined the Protein Chemistry laboratory to complete her Biochemistry Honours year in 2002, and her protein chemistry research provided new insights into the regulation of enzymes playing an important role in the formation of many cancers. Nicole obtained a highly prestigious Australian Postgraduate Award from the Commonwealth Government to support her PhD studies at Peter Mac. In 2003, during the first year of her PhD, Nicole passed away after a short illness.

This award is made in memory of Nicole's exceptional academic achievements, and her passion, drive and commitment to science. The award is sponsored by the Lions Club of Geelong Breakfast, donations made in memory of Nicole, and the Research Division at Peter Mac.
Applicants are assessed on their development as researchers throughout their research experience, their initiative and commitment to research, their passion for science and their academic excellence.

The award came about through an unusual set of circumstances, but was very relevant to our club as a number of our members had previous contacts with the Lundie family and Nicole was a local girl.

The Lions Club of Geelong Breakfast has been touched by cancer with a number of our members, partners and family members having been inflicted with the disease in one form or another.



past winners

L-R: Christine Wong (2006, 2007) Jane Lin (2004) Lucas Dent (r/u 2010) Marcus Lefebure (2010) Ivan Fung (r/u 2010) Chris Chan )2008) Sally Davis (2009)


2003 winner - Jane Lin

Jane Lin has completed her PhD at Peter Mac and is now in a Post-Doctoral position in the Research Laboratory

2004 winner - Cameron Snell

2005 winner - Stephanie Bannister

2006 winners - Christina Wong & Patricia Illing


Honour Students

2007 - Christina Wong

2008 - Christopher Chan


2009 winner - Sally Davis

2010 winner - Marcus Lefebure


2011 winners - Sam Manning & Sang Kyu-Kim

R/U - Frederic Li 

2012 winner - Rosie Millen 


Sam, Rosie, Sang & Frederic Li

2013 winners - Nicole Milenovski

H/C  - Natasha Sosnin & Daniel Buckley

2013 winner

2014 winners  - Sherly Mardiana

R/U - Ellse Wallach


 Elise & Sherly, with Lundie Family

2015 winners - Charlene Magtoto & Sharon Tran


2016 winners - Shaun Blake and Vicky Tan

2017 winners -  Kenji Fujihara & Joel Mason